The Takeda Techno-Entrepreneurship Awards The Takeda Foundation
TOP About the Award Award 2002 Archives FAQ Contact Us

2002 Cyber Workshops

Award Recipients

Session A
Session B
Session C
Session D
Session E
Session F

Session A

Award Winner
"Development of a Nanometer Microwave Imager"
Michael A. Kelly (Stanford University)

(Amount Awarded: \7,000,000)

Poster (PDF/172K)

Finalist Commendation
"Development of Nano-Device Probing System under Multi-Extreme Conditions"
Hiroyuki Akinaga (National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology)/Hiroyuki Hirayama (Tokyo Institute of Technology)

"Development of the Electrical and Mechanical Characteristic Measurement System for DNA"
Takao Okada (Research Institute of Biomolecule Metrology)

"Development of Nanoscale Local-Bandstructure Analyzing System"
Osamu Takeuchi (University of Tsukuba)

"Development of User-Friendly High-Resolution Magnetic Scanning Microscope Using a Needle MR Probe"
Shiho Nakamura Okuno (Toshiba Corporation)



Session B

Award Winner
"Implementation of Dependable Information Storage System"
Haruo Yokota (Tokyo Institute of Technology)

(Amount Awarded: \7,000,000)


Finalist Commendation
"Ultra-Small Failure Diagnosis Module Using a System LSI Chip Integrated with MEMS Vibration Sensors"
Noriyoshi Yamauchi (NPO Wearable Environmental Information Networks and The University of Tokyo)

Poster (PDF/116K)
"Dependable System for SoC Design Applying Wide-Area SAN/NAS"
Kazuhiko Iwasaki (Tokyo Metropolitan University)

"Contributions to the Security and Reliability of Complex Systems"
Nicholas Victor Findler (Arizona State University)

"A Provably Correct Fault-Tolerant Distributed Framework"
Amit Garg (University of Texas at Austin)



Session C

Award Winner
"Development of Biocrystals Using Three-Dimensional Nano-Patterned Elastic Substrate Fabricated by Two-Photon Initiated Polymerization and Their Application to Tissue Engineering"
Toshiyuki Watanabe (Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology)

(Amount Awarded: \7,000,000)

Poster (PDF/107K)

Finalist Commendation
"Exploring Artificial Proteins that Control Synthesis of Nanostructured Inorganic Crystals"
Kiyotaka Shiba (Cancer Institute Japanese Foundation for Cancer Research)

"Development of Protein Chip on Nano-Reactor Array Using Single-Cell RT-PCR and Cell-Free Protein Synthesis"
Hideo Nakano (Nagoya University)

"Development of the Nano-materials Responding to Intra-Cellular Signals for New Concept of Drug Delivery (D-RECS: Drug Delivery System Responding to Cellular Signals) "
Yoshiki Katayama (Kyushu University)

"Thermal Manipulation and Diagnostics of Molecular and Cellular Structures"
Kenneth Eugene Goodson (Stanford University)



Session D

Award Winner
"No award winner was selected from Session D."

Finalist Commendation
"Development of Depth-of-Interaction Detector and Scanner Design for Brain PET"
Hideo Murayama (National Institute of Radiological Sciences)

Poster (PDF/123K)
"Visualized Monitoring of Oxygen Exchange Ratio in the Brain And Muscle Using Functional Near-Infrared Spectroscopy and Magnetic Resonance Imaging"
Toshinori Kato (Hamano Life Science Research Foundation)

"Development of Multinuclear/Multichannel MRI System at Ultra-High Field for the Elucidation of Metabolic Mechanism Underlying Human Brain Function"
Fumiyuki Mitsumori (National Institute for Environmental Studies)

Poster (PDF/107K)
"Development of ESRI/MRI Co-Registration System for Functional Brain Imaging under Oxidative Stress"
Kenichi Yamada (Kyusyu University)

Poster (PDF/167K)
"Fusion of Multiple Imaging System to Visualize Real-functional Anatomy of Brain"
Takamitsu Fujimaki (Teikyo University)

Poster (PDF/942K)


Session E

Award Winner
"Future Global Carbon Cycle and Climate Projection: Integrated Analysis of Satellite-Based Data, Terrestrial Ecosystem Model, and Simplified Earth System Model"
Kazuhito Ichii (Nagoya University)

(Amount Awarded: \3,500,000)

"New Tools and Methods for Monitoring Photosynthetically Active Radiation and its Role in Crop Production and the Terrestrial Carbon Cycle"
Dennis Gene Dye (Frontier Research System for Global Change)

(Amount Awarded: \3,500,000)

Poster (PDF/231K)

Finalist Commendation
"Development of a Regional Environmental Monitoring System using Remote Sensing Satellite Data for Environmental Well-Being of the Seas and Oceans in East and Southeast Asia"
Soo Chin Liew (National University of Singapore)

Poster (PDF/27K)
"Study of the Surface Elevation Changes of Antarctic and Greenland Ice Sheets Using Satellite Altimetry"
Kirill Sergeevich Khvorostovsky (Nansen International Environmental and Remote Sensing Center (NIERSC))

"Emerging Techniques and Technologies for a Harmful Algal Bloom (HAB) Observing System"
Tiffany A. Moisan (Observational Science Branch, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center)

Poster (PDF/3222K)


Session F

Award Winner
"Phytoremediation of Heavy Metals By Polyphosphate-Coupled Transport Engineering"
Kazufumi Yazaki (Kyoto University)

(Amount Awarded: \7,000,000)


Finalist Commendation
"Chlamydomonas W80, a Green Alga Highly Tolerant to Heavy Metals: a Basic Study for Its Application for Phytoremediation"
Hitoshi Miyasaka (The Kansai Electric Power Company, Inc.)

Poster (PDF/100K)
"Depelopment of Biological Eco-Controlling Technology"
Tatsuo Sumino (Hitachi Plant Engineering & Construction Co., Ltd.)

"Characterization and Control of Anaerobic Microbial Consortia Degrading Polychlorinated Biphenyls under Contaminated Subsoil Environment"
Arata Katayama (Nagoya University)

"Development of Bioaugmentation Technologies for Cleaning Up Soil and Groundwater Contaminated with Trichloroethylene"
Kazuhiro Iwasaki (National Institute for Environmental Studies)


The affiliations are as of November, 2002.


Copyright (C) 2003,The Takeda Foundation. All rights reserved.